Skip to content

Book 2: For One More Day (Mitch Albom)

by on February 22, 2013

photo

Title: For One More Day

Author: Mitch Albom

Apples: 8/10

Summary: A short book about Charles “Chick” Benetto, who was a child of divorce and divorcee himself when the story took place. Written at the beginning from another person’s “interview” with Chick about his attempted suicide which resulted in a miraculous day with his dead mother. For one more day is a family ghost story about regret, redemption, and the power of a mother’s love.

The Good: I was in tears by the end. Any book that can move me to tears is a good book. All the regret and pain that Chick felt, all the emotions and memories running through his head on that “one more day” with his mother, and the mistakes of his youth. All of it I could personally relate to, not because I made the same mistakes he did (I never attempted suicide, I never had to choose between my parents, I never had to experience divorce in my life nor deal with a drinking problem), but because I have made my mistakes that I regret and I have felt (and am still feeling) the love of a mother and all the miracles which comes with it.

The Rotten: This review is probably longer than the book. I’m not against short books, but I would have liked it to be longer. What’s worse is that the book itself is deceiving ‘thick’-looking, but it actually contains a lot of spaces and gaps. I felt like I was kind of ripped off with the amount of actual words in the book and the price I paid for it.

Best Enjoyed: Within walking distance from your family, or your mother to be more precise, because you will have an irresistible urge to hug her and declare your everlasting love for her.

Fate of the Book: It’s going to be a nice surprise for someone.

Favorite Quote(s):

“‘Mom’ …there are a zillion words on this planet, and not one of them comes out of your mouth the way that one does.”

“You count the hours you could have spent with your mother. It’s a lifetime in itself.”

From → Fiction, Reviews

Leave a Reply

