Skip to content

Book 9: The Night Circus (By Erin Morgenstern)

by on May 28, 2013

Photo by Irkstyle, via Flickr Creative Commons.

Title: The Night Circus

Author: Erin Morgenstern

Genre: YA, Fantas

Eaten thru on: May 10, 2013 (Yes, more than two weeks after I finished it did I finally get around to this review, sorry!)

Summary: Set in the magical, wondrous Le Cirque des Reves that appears and disappears without warning and opens only at night. Two students of “magic” are bound into a fierce competition, only one can emerge the victor. This clash of pedagogues results in layers upon layers of dazzling circus creations and illusions. And behind it all, a love story.

In 3 Nouns: Creation. Fantasy. Talent.

In 3 Adjectives: Star-crossed. Interwoven. Magical.

The Good: The world within Le Cirque des Reves created by Erin was magnificent. The magical labyrinths, gardens, trees and other creations by Celia and Marco for each other was extraordinarily beautiful. I absolutely adored the Ice Garden, the Wishing Tree and the Pool of Tears and can’t wait to see those elaborate fantasies come to life on the big screen. The circus itself, a physical embodiment of love, intrigued me more than the actual story it contained. Well-deserved koodos to Erin for her wonderful imagination and for giving me the incredible urge to wear a red scarf the next time I visit a circus (never been to before, so will keep that mind when I do visit a circus)

The Rotten: The “game” between the two protagonists is not nearly as epic and filled with powerful magical manoeuvres and competitions as a game of magic and wit should or usually is. I can’t say I’m not disappointed by the lack of fantastical matching of intellect, strength, and cunningness. So the bones of the story wasn’t too strong. Might I suggest larger intakes of calcium? (I’m not good at jokes)

Apples: 7/10

Best Enjoyed: In a most unusual place, like the ruralest countryside of Japan? If you are not privileged and spoiled like me, your room will do. Just make sure to oil and rewind your imagination for the wild ride.

Fate of the Book: Trapped in my Kindle

Next Bookworm TargetInferno: A Novel by Dan Brown

—–

P.S.: You may or may not have noticed, I went from book 4 to book 9 since my last book review. Where are the 4 books in between, you ask? Fine question. They were filled up by Madeline D’Engle’s A Wrinkle In Time and the Harry Potter series, books 3 through 5. I will not be doing a review of them because practically the entire 7 billion people on this planet have read those books. You can form your opinions without my severely belated review getting in the way. These guys have been long overdue, and I’m sure Janina is thrilled that I am getting through them at last. Better later than never, right?

From → Fiction, Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

