Skip to content

Book 10: Inferno (By Dan Brown)

by on June 2, 2013

8737387533_0dabd3ac85_z

Courtesy of esmir1002 on Flickr

Title: Inferno: A Novel

Author: Dan Brown

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Historic Fiction

Eaten thru on: 12:43am, May 30, 2013

Summary: The 4th book in the Robert Langdon series, this time Langdon is forced to focus on his knowledge and grasp of Dante’s Inferno as he races against the clock to solve a puzzle laid out by a highly-intelligent devotee of the transhumanist movement.

In 3 Nouns: Adventure. Mystery. Puzzle.

In 3 Adjectives: Entertaining. Gripping. Shocking.

The Good: I am never disappointed by Dan Brown’s amazing ability to put together a riveting puzzle embedded with historical facts and current issues. I do love me a good, thrilling historical novel. In true Brown-style, the twists and turns were unpredicted (at least by me, but I’ve been bad at solving even the simplest of mysteries) and shocking. The book kept me on the edge of my seat the entire way through.

The Rotten: Literature-wise, the writing is mediocre. I skimmed and skipped over several large chunks of text because I found it unnecessary and long, especially when I really wanted to know what happened next. So Brown hurt himself when he created such an engaging puzzle because all I cared about was the next piece of the puzzle, and I didn’t really cared all that much about the characters, their emotions and their excuses and explanations. Furthermore, Langdon, being a supremely intelligent man, surrounded by equally smart people, was hard to relate to. So the characters were alright, but didn’t win my sympathies or anything (the crazy “villain” gained more compassion and understanding from me than the “good” guys did). Plus, all that description about the location broke my reading flow. If I wanted to have a detailed map of Florence, I would consult a LonelyPlanet guide. It’s a compelling, entertaining escapist novel that teaches you a few interesting real-life things. But that’s basically it. It’s more adept on a screen than it is in words. But, having said that, I would eat up a book about symbols and cryptic art if Dan Brown ever produces such a book. The facts he interweaves into his stories are mind-bogglingly fascinating.

Apples: 3/5 (I’m converting to the Goodreads system)

Best Enjoyed: All in one go because if you are anything like me, you will not be able to put it down.

Fate of the book: Trapped in my kindle.

Next bookworm target: The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

From → Fiction, Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

