Skip to content

Book 11: The Perks of Being A Wallflower (By Stephen Chbosky)

by on June 4, 2013

Courtesy of Tripp via Flickr.

Title: The Perks of Being A Wallflower

Author: Stephen Chbosky

Genre: YA

Summary: First-person narrative, by Charlie, who is starting his Freshmen year in the 90s. Introverted, socially-awkward but supremely observant and intelligent beyond his age, Charlie attempts to navigate through the emotionally-turbulent, confusing teenage years of mix tapes, first love, dates, and family and school dramas.

Eaten thru on: May 31, 2013

In 3 Nouns: Friendship. Family. Love.

In 3 Adjectives: Inspiring. Brave. Infinite.

The Good: The characters, my god, how I love them. Charlie, with his observations, myriad of thoughts that explodes from one detail, his crying, his emotions. Patrick, his quirkiness and all the teenage BS he had to deal with. Sam and her elegance and beauty as seen through Charlie, her words and friendship. I felt like, by the end of the book, that I was part of that circle, that group of friends with their inside jokes. It’s a great feeling to be left with, especially knowing that Charlie is going to be just fine. I particularly loved how Charlie’s mental issues (of which I knew through the movie) didn’t occur to me until near the end when he suffered an episode. Just like The Fault In Our Stars, the illness was not the central point. It did not bog down their lives or their stories. Their illnesses did not define them. I just can’t get enough of that message. Plus, I adored the feeling the book left me. This mellow kind of happiness, like everything in the world was going to be just fine and I am going to be alright. There is no better feeling in the world. Lastly, there are just so many fantastic quotes! “We are infinite.” “We accept the love we think we deserve.” I mean, goddamn! That’s precious.

The Rotten: Despite the fact that I loved the way Chbosky decided to present the story, in letter-format, there were parts of it where I thought, “there’s no way anyone would ever write or remember that much detail in a letter”. But it’s a minor hiccup that easily escaped my mind when I got far enough into a letter. Having said that, because I watched the movie first, Charlie went off the letter-reading after the initiate opening of the film, so when I first dove into the book, I thought after the first few letters, it would stop and just transition into the common storytelling format. But to my delight, it didn’t. So I guess I really did dig the letter-storytelling format. It didn’t leave a lot of room for unnecessary descriptions and transitions, which I can definitely do without.

Apples: 4/5

Best Enjoyed: Anywhere, anytime. It’s a versatile book.

Fate of the Book: Trapped in my Kindle, again. (I am going to stop doing this section until I get my hands on a physical book come August)

Next bookworm targetNever Let Me Go By Kazuo Ishiguro

From → Fiction, Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

