Skip to content

Ready, Set, READ!

by on June 8, 2013

Due to an overwhelming amount of Youtube videos (endearingly termed Booktube videos) I have recently viewed on books, book reviews, bookmarks and all-things-books, I have been inspired to try out a Read-A-Thon.

For those of you who are not fervently and passionately in love with reading at the moment (which makes me question your motive for being on a book blog), or are like me who’ve never had one in school and have never came across such a term, it’s basically like a marathon for books except you still do the essential things in life such as eating, sleeping, resting your eyes (you do not want to go blind from non-stop word-absorption), exposing yourself to daylight (optional, negligibly optional.) and in some cases, working/studying.

But, outside of those necessary tasks, you do not touch social media, you do not scroll through hours of endless funny cat pictures, gifs, videos, etc, (as much as you would love to do it) you do not keep up with your daily dose of depression (aka, the news), you do not watch movies or sit through entire TV series, you do not take forever to cook up fancy dinners, you do not go out shopping (unless you have no access to books. In that case, my deepest, sincerest sympathies. Go forth, my friend), you drop socializing completely from your life (I might be exaggerating this just a little bit). All you do is sit down (or stand, if that’s your couple of tea) and read.

Read-a-thons can come in a variety of different time frames and varying degrees of actual reading (depending on your definition of essential life things. You can make up your own rules. The ones I’ve listed above are mine). Usually, newcomers start with a 24-hour one where you start reading at 12:00am and stop your obsessive page-turning at 11:59pm on the same day. There are also, week- and month-long ones. I have yet to hear about a year-long one. I suspect that’s because a year-long read-a-thon is a privilege only a very wealthy, non-working, non-socialite, non-celebrity, serious home-dweller could possibility afford and be able to do.

So my fellow Internet compatriots, my reading obsession has come to an all-time peak. Come Monday 12:00am next week, I will be attempting to do a week-long read-a-thon, from June 10 until 11:59pm on June 16.

Why am I being so insane? I retort with a, why not? This is probably the only time in the next two years that I can afford to submerge myself almost completely in the written word without being fired or failing a course or an entire grad programme. I am riding my wave of motivation to read. It’s call grabbing opportunity by the horns or bookmarks, to fit the theme here. Plus, all the TV series have stopped filming for the summer and Goodreads is taunting me with the whole “you are behind on your reading progress” bull. So here I go.

Do not worry, I consider blogging and annoying you all with my senseless rants an essential life task, so I will be keeping you all updated on my read-a-thon progress. If you dig that sort of thing, then I will see you at my written-word-fortified castle.

Here are the three books I will be trying my every waking, non-working, non-sleeping, non-eating minute to finish:

1. Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo (A non-fiction?! Preposterous!)

2. Looking For Alaska by John Green

3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

4. (If by some miracle I finish all three before the read-a-thon hits the final minute…) The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein

Wish me luck! 

 

From → Read-A-Thons

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

