Skip to content

Book 15: Looking for Alaska (By John Green)

by on June 16, 2013

Read-A-Thon: Day 6 Progress

Pages Accomplished: 67 (dismal, I know. but I was distracted by gorgeous clothes…)

Book: Looking for Alaska by John Green

Finished: Looking for Alaska

Mental State: I am not going to make my book quote for this read-a-thon. I am a little disappointed but not enough to not reward myself by going on a shopping spree (which breaks several rules of the read-a-thon. All is lost) Not really. I am not discouraged! It is my first after all, I never expected it to amount too much. Plus, look! 15 books! I’m halfway to completing my Project 30!! That’s definitely cause for celebration, or a shopping spree. So it’s back to one-book-a-week sanity, for now. And I going to start regularly updating this blog, one post every week, up either every Saturday or Sunday. But enough of the scheduling, on with the review!

—–

Title: Looking For Alaska

Author: John Green

Genre: YA

Summary: Before Alaska, Miles “Pudge” Halter was a near non-existent in his school. Obsessed with famous final words, he went off to Culver Creek Boarding School in search of the Great Perhaps (François Rabelais, poet) and enters a world of crazy pranks, constant rule-breaking, and Alaska, the sexy, funny, smart, moody Alaska that captured his attention and unwavering affections at first sight. After Alaska, his world would never be the same again. (Partially based off of the summary on Goodreads)

Eaten thru on: June 15, 2013

MAJOR SPOILER ALERT!

The Good: Towards the “day” and after it, I had an inkling something unpleasant was going to occur. I had thought they were getting an expulsion, that the Eagle had caught them after all. That idea stuck with me until I passed into the “After” and my heart sank. I couldn’t believe what actually took place. I couldn’t believe I thought them getting expelled was going to be the worst thing that could happen. It looked so small and insignificant compared to what actually happened. John Green can spin a great story. In addition, the little truths and wisdom that seeped through the teenage voice of Pudge was, as always, fantastic. They became little revelations for me as well. Plus, I loved all the intelligent references to great people in history and in the world today. And the concept of the Great Perhaps resonated with me deeply because that is what I, in this wanderlust phase of my life, am in search of, a Great Perhaps.

The Meh’s: I didn’t care all that much about Alaska. She irritated me with her sarcasm, her extreme mood-swings, and her general lack of concern for Pudge. I didn’t shed a tear reading what happened to her. She was more of a prism through which Pudge and the Colonel, but mainly Pudge, learned to see and experience the world differently. The lessons that Alaska’s demise brought to him was more profound and gut-wrenching than her actually accident. I must say, the characters in this book did not imprint nearly as deeply as Hazel Grace and Augustus did in The Fault in Our Stars. John Green didn’t make me care enough about Alaska. He did an alright job with Pudge and the Colonel.

Final Verdict: 3/5

Best Enjoyed: Anywhere, anytime. It’s quite an easy and smooth read.

Next bookworm target: And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

