Skip to content

Book 18: The Hobbit (By J.R.R. Tolkein)

by on July 17, 2013

Title: The Hobbit

Author: J.R.R. Tolkein

Genre: Epic Fantasy, children’s fiction

Summary: Bilbo Baggins is the reluctant hero in this epic journey to help reclaim Dale and the Mountain that housed all the treasures of the Dwarves, from Smaug, the dragon that took it all. Along the way, Gandalf, Gollum, and an assortment of mystical creatures all comes out to play. It is the introduction to the mystical world of Middle-Earth, and how one hobbit sheds his homebody Baggins for his more adventurous Tookish side, all the while cleverly outmaneuvering evil creatures and worming his way out of troublesome situations with help of a magical ring.

Eaten Thru On: July 17, 2013

The Overall:

This took quite a bit of time to read through, not because it was a hard read. No, by far one of the easier reads I’ve done, being a children’s novel and all. But I was very distracted by other things, chief among them, well, life itself. So it didn’t hold as great of a magical appeal to me as it might for others.

I liked the story line. Bilbo amused me all the way through. I really related to his numerous moments of homesickness, being abroad myself at the moment, I get what he is feeling. So that was something surprising which came out of the book. The Dwarves annoyed me in their ungratefulness. And Gandalf just kind of dropped off the face of Middle-Earth for the most exciting parts of the book.

I really don’t have an intense opinion about this book. It didn’t incite a heavy amount of emotions. I am, however, looking forward to the second installment of the movie when I finally get to hear Cumberbatch as Smaug. Yum.

Final Verdict: 3/5

Best Enjoyed: All in one go because then you really submerge into the adventures and epicness of this book. Reading it in pieces didn’t help me get wrapped up in all the magic.

Next Bookworming Target: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by JK Rowling

From → Fiction, Reviews

Leave a Reply

