Skip to content

Book 20: Divergent

by on December 20, 2013

Pew! It has been two whole months since I last finished a book. Masters has been hell. But here I am!

I was determined to finish at least 20 books, even if I won’t hit my target of 30.

So here it is, the final review of 2013.

—–

Courtesy of The Hollywood Reporter

Title: Divergent

Author: Veronica Roth

Genre: YA, Dystopian, Science Fiction

Summary: In Roth’s dystopic futuristic world, five factions are created based on five virtues: Dauntless (the brave), Abnegation (the selfless), Candor (the honest), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). This is so to maintain peace among the people of this society. Every year, on an appointed day, all sixteen-year-olds must take a test and ultimately decide for themselves which faction to live out the rest of their lives in. For Beatrice Prior, that day determines whether she stays with her family or be who she truly is. Not only does she make a shocking choice which changes her name to Tris, but she is also burdened with a dangerous secret that can lead to her demise.

In the initiation which follows, she must keep her head levelled as her physical and mental endurance are push to their limits. Meanwhile, she has to figure out who her friends really are, how to face her deep-seated fears, and how to harness the power of that secret which can destroy her–or save the ones she loves.

Eaten Thru On: December 21, 2013 1:58am

Thoughts:

The plot definitely scored well with me, a dystopian-sci-fi fanatic. I liked Roth’s idea of the five virtues. It’s interesting to think about which one I personally would have chosen to belong to. The budding romance between Beatrice and a lovely, enigmatic boy most certainly stirred my interest and kept me going (and giggling and squealing like a little fan-girl). The action and the conflicts were well done. Although I have to say, some of the more “prominent” deaths in the story wasn’t played up as much as I’d like. Then again, maybe it is a reflection of reality. A death of a loved one (oops, did I spoil something?) might seem like the world has collapsed to you, but to others, it’s just another passing. And in the context of a war, it’s even less significant. There are bigger dangers to worry about.

One thing I did love is discovering the fact that Tris is not the kind-hearted and do-gooder heroine whom are so prevalent in numerous works of fiction and media. She has a fire in her, and she isn’t afraid to feel, think or do things that are commonly viewed as too “cruel” and “dark” for a heroine. She reacted to certain situations and people like most actual human beings would. She has both light and dark, not just some righteous-till-the-end character with no meaningful, real depth to them. She doesn’t always do the right thing, but I applaud that because I would probably have done the exact same thing, or worse, if I were in her shoes. I don’t like it when a main character makes me feel bad about my less-than-kind thoughts and actions, when they are so righteous that it makes them almost pathetic. I have little sympathy for those who lose everything because they can’t do that one act of necessary “evil”. I’m glad Tris isn’t one of those “perfectly good” characters.

It’s one of those books that, if this type of genre captivates you, would keep you gripped and flipping the pages until the end. But alas, the actual writing wasn’t all that dazzling. I didn’t expect it to be, being an escapist novel and all. The story is what kept me involved, which meant that I skipped over lines and sometimes jumped over entire paragraphs just to get to the good bits.

Nonetheless, read it, love it, and fidget excitedly over your copy of its sequel: Insurgent.

Final Verdict: 3/5

Best Enjoyed: Curled up underneath the sheets, reading until your eyes go blind.

Next Bookworming TargetInsurgent by Veronica Roth (Surprise, surprise).

—–

There has been a subtle change to the Project. I will obviously fail to read 30 books before 11:59pm on December 31st, 2013. But have no fear! I’m at it again this coming year. And this time, I will be triumphant.

From → Fiction, Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

