Skip to content

Book 21: Insurgent

by on December 29, 2013

I lied.

Divergent wasn’t my last book of 2013.

But I didn’t really consciously and intentionally lie. I wasn’t intending on touching its sequel until I finished my research papers. Yet, I couldn’t keep my mind from roaming and my hands from flipping the pages and me from procrastinating.

And I can’t promise that I won’t finish Allegiant before the clock strikes midnight on January 1, especially since I’m already on Chapter 4.

——-

Courtesy of http://veronicarothbooks.blogspot.com/

Title: Insurgent

Author: Veronica Roth

Genre: YA, Sci-fi, fantasy, dystopian

Summary: (Beware: Spoilers for those who haven’t read the first book yet!) Success through the brutal initiations in Dauntless should have been marked by celebration and victory, but instead, Tris faces a devastating attack on her home and society, choices that will test the very core of her humanity and values, and a looming war. Haunted by guilt and grief, having to adapt rapidly to changing circumstances, and struggle with her Divergence, her relationships and herself, Tris must be stronger than ever in order to save her loved ones, come to terms with the truth, and hold on to life.

Eaten Thru On: December 28, 2013 at 2:01am

Thoughts:

(Spoilers! SPOILERS EVERYWHERE!)

To be scathingly honest, the writing kind of fell apart for me. The storyline was alright, but all the hints Roth dropped throughout this book about the grand revelation at the end gave me more than enough to know what was to be unearthed. So, when I arrived at that moment, I wasn’t as surprised as I wanted to be. There was one detail which I never foresaw, so that kept the ending from being completely ruined.

I appreciated being able to sympathize with Tris’ recklessness as a symptom of her deep grief. With everything she’s been through, I wasn’t surprised she wanted death because it was the ultimate release from all the chaos, pain, guilt, responsibilities and death around her, on her and within her. It was overwhelming and I can relate. However, at times I hear myself telling her to get over it and fight for her life! Ultimately, the core of me still wants to see the protagonist put up a good fight and never give up.

The love story between Tris and Tobias got a little heated, a little old and a little amateurish at times, especially considering the environment they were in. But I still liked it to a certain extent. It was one of the few light, beautiful things left in that world of theirs. The friendship between Tris and Christina has wound its way to top of my favourite relationships list.  It was one of the biggest relief in the story for me when they made up. I don’t like to see the main character struggle alone. It’s just such hard (and most of the time, fatal) path to walk all by oneself. Teamwork people!

And my god! Is Tobia’s family twisted. I can’t imagine how much problems that guy would have in real life. He’d probably be a sociopathic serial killer of some kind or another. That man needs a lot of love, healing and time. But then again, so does pretty much everyone in this trilogy, with the amount of bloodshed and catch-22 decisions they all have had to make.

Final Verdict: 3/5

Best Enjoyed: In one go!

Next Bookworming TargetAllegiant by Veronica Roth.

Have a good New Years! Keep it classy people.

From → Fiction, Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

